goni Posted June 2, 2009 Posted June 2, 2009 Hi, I am working in QA and I am testing window applications. I would like to know if I can use AutoIT in order to automate the testing of GUI applications.
bo8ster Posted June 2, 2009 Posted June 2, 2009 Great question and the answer is yes! Being in testing myself I have found this tool to be invaluable in GUI automation within in Windows. I have seen many programs do capture/replay and while AutoIt can do that, its strengths are in its ability to capture windows control handles and work with the windows DLLs. This allows Black box testing while having the ability to manipulate the controls on the GUI. I did an presentation on AutoIt for work- see here Post your code because code says more then your words can. SciTe Debug mode - it's magic: #AutoIt3Wrapper_run_debug_mode=Y. Use Opt("MustDeclareVars", 1)[topic="84960"]Brett F's Learning To Script with AutoIt V3[/topic][topic="21048"]Valuater's AutoIt 1-2-3, Class... is now in Session[/topic]Contribution: [topic="87994"]Get SVN Rev Number[/topic], [topic="93527"]Control Handle under mouse[/topic], [topic="91966"]A Presentation using AutoIt[/topic], [topic="112756"]Log ConsoleWrite output in Scite[/topic]
zfisherdrums Posted June 2, 2009 Posted June 2, 2009 (edited) Hi,I am working in QA and I am testing window applications. I would like to know if I can use AutoIT in order to automate the testing of GUI applications.Yes...and no. I was, until recently, involved with the automated QA group for my work. We used AutoIt in a variety of contexts to aid in regression testing. AutoIt is very good at certain things, but it is no panacea for GUI test automation in all contexts. It has some limitations that may require some digging to get around. For example, it does not natively handle Java, (certain) WinForm, WPF, or FLEX controls. I'm assuming that Silverlight controls can be tossed into that bucket as well. Fortunately, UDFs and Libraries have been written to overcome SOME of these obstacles, but not all. And while there are libraries for automating IE and Firefox, there are many browsers that aren't easily automated using AutoIt.Depending on your development context, you may never encounter these obstacles - but they're good to know about up front. Would you be willing to describe your application - what you know about it, do you have access to the developers, what language is it coded in, environments it will be hosted on, etc? That would be help in determining AutoIt's usefulness in your area.By the way, bo8ster's presentation is an excellent example of using GUI automation in a development/testing context. Edited June 2, 2009 by zfisherdrums Identify .NET controls by their design time namesLazyReader© could have read all this for you. Unit Testing for AutoItFolder WatcherWord Doc ComparisonThis here blog...
bo8ster Posted June 2, 2009 Posted June 2, 2009 thanks zfisherdrums Post your code because code says more then your words can. SciTe Debug mode - it's magic: #AutoIt3Wrapper_run_debug_mode=Y. Use Opt("MustDeclareVars", 1)[topic="84960"]Brett F's Learning To Script with AutoIt V3[/topic][topic="21048"]Valuater's AutoIt 1-2-3, Class... is now in Session[/topic]Contribution: [topic="87994"]Get SVN Rev Number[/topic], [topic="93527"]Control Handle under mouse[/topic], [topic="91966"]A Presentation using AutoIt[/topic], [topic="112756"]Log ConsoleWrite output in Scite[/topic]
goni Posted June 3, 2009 Author Posted June 3, 2009 Great question and the answer is yes! Being in testing myself I have found this tool to be invaluable in GUI automation within in Windows. I have seen many programs do capture/replay and while AutoIt can do that, its strengths are in its ability to capture windows control handles and work with the windows DLLs. This allows Black box testing while having the ability to manipulate the controls on the GUI. I did an presentation on AutoIt for work- see here Thank you so much for your help. Do you know of tools in AutoIt that will assist in writing test cases for GUI?. For example a recording tool that records the movements and translates it to code.(Something like the record macro in Word) Thanks
goni Posted June 3, 2009 Author Posted June 3, 2009 Yes...and no. I was, until recently, involved with the automated QA group for my work. We used AutoIt in a variety of contexts to aid in regression testing. AutoIt is very good at certain things, but it is no panacea for GUI test automation in all contexts. It has some limitations that may require some digging to get around. For example, it does not natively handle Java, (certain) WinForm, WPF, or FLEX controls. I'm assuming that Silverlight controls can be tossed into that bucket as well. Fortunately, UDFs and Libraries have been written to overcome SOME of these obstacles, but not all. And while there are libraries for automating IE and Firefox, there are many browsers that aren't easily automated using AutoIt.Depending on your development context, you may never encounter these obstacles - but they're good to know about up front. Would you be willing to describe your application - what you know about it, do you have access to the developers, what language is it coded in, environments it will be hosted on, etc? That would be help in determining AutoIt's usefulness in your area.By the way, bo8ster's presentation is an excellent example of using GUI automation in a development/testing context.Thanks for your reply,I am working as a consultant for medical device companies. Most of them have some kind of application that runs on Windows for user data input and to display data to the user.
bo8ster Posted June 4, 2009 Posted June 4, 2009 Thank you so much for your help. Do you know of tools in AutoIt that will assist in writing test cases for GUI?. For example a recording tool that records the movements and translates it to code.(Something like the record macro in Word) ThanksThere is the AU3Recorder tool in the Tools menu of Scite. I think you need to download the full version, not the lite one. It comes with other great tools too like Tidy, code snippets, koda, code wizards and much more.You can get a copy of SciTE4AutoIt3.exe from http://www.autoitscript.com/autoit3/scite/downloads.shtmlAs for the test case's themselves - remember AutoIt is a tool. Your testing approach and test case planning should come from your test plan. I would suggest writing some quality manual test cases then automating them. Desk-checking will be need to be done to validate your automated test cases in the same way unit testing is done in development. No point having a automated test case that does not work or always reports pass.Hope that helps. Post your code because code says more then your words can. SciTe Debug mode - it's magic: #AutoIt3Wrapper_run_debug_mode=Y. Use Opt("MustDeclareVars", 1)[topic="84960"]Brett F's Learning To Script with AutoIt V3[/topic][topic="21048"]Valuater's AutoIt 1-2-3, Class... is now in Session[/topic]Contribution: [topic="87994"]Get SVN Rev Number[/topic], [topic="93527"]Control Handle under mouse[/topic], [topic="91966"]A Presentation using AutoIt[/topic], [topic="112756"]Log ConsoleWrite output in Scite[/topic]
danielle Posted January 31, 2012 Posted January 31, 2012 Great question and the answer is yes! Being in testing myself I have found this tool to be invaluable in GUI automation within in Windows. I have seen many programs do capture/replay and while AutoIt can do that, its strengths are in its ability to capture windows control handles and work with the windows DLLs. This allows Black box testing while having the ability to manipulate the controls on the GUI. I did an presentation on AutoIt for work- see here Hi, I'm new here and I'm trying to understand how to use AutoIt for GUI testing, and when I press the link above I get [#103139] You do not have permission to view this forum. Why is this? Thanks, Danielle
Chimaera Posted January 31, 2012 Posted January 31, 2012 danielle Thats probably because some forums are closed off and not available unless you are a Dev for eg, i cant access the link either so id assume its dev's or mvp's only If Ive just helped you ... miracles do happen. Chimaera CopyRobo() * Hidden Admin Account Enabler * Software Location From Registry * Find Display Resolution * _ChangeServices()
Moderators JLogan3o13 Posted January 31, 2012 Moderators Posted January 31, 2012 I was able to get to it just fine this morning. "Profanity is the last vestige of the feeble mind. For the man who cannot express himself forcibly through intellect must do so through shock and awe" - Spencer W. Kimball How to get your question answered on this forum!
Moderators Melba23 Posted January 31, 2012 Moderators Posted January 31, 2012 (edited) Hi all, It is not in a closed forum - it is in Chat. Try this link - it works for me. M23 Edit: Just realised danielle has only the 1 post. I am not sure that she can access that forum yet - I think you need 5 posts, at least to post there. Edited January 31, 2012 by Melba23 Sudden thought! Any of my own code posted anywhere on the forum is available for use by others without any restriction of any kind Open spoiler to see my UDFs: Spoiler ArrayMultiColSort ---- Sort arrays on multiple columnsChooseFileFolder ---- Single and multiple selections from specified path treeview listingDate_Time_Convert -- Easily convert date/time formats, including the language usedExtMsgBox --------- A highly customisable replacement for MsgBoxGUIExtender -------- Extend and retract multiple sections within a GUIGUIFrame ---------- Subdivide GUIs into many adjustable framesGUIListViewEx ------- Insert, delete, move, drag, sort, edit and colour ListView itemsGUITreeViewEx ------ Check/clear parent and child checkboxes in a TreeViewMarquee ----------- Scrolling tickertape GUIsNoFocusLines ------- Remove the dotted focus lines from buttons, sliders, radios and checkboxesNotify ------------- Small notifications on the edge of the displayScrollbars ----------Automatically sized scrollbars with a single commandStringSize ---------- Automatically size controls to fit textToast -------------- Small GUIs which pop out of the notification area
somdcomputerguy Posted January 31, 2012 Posted January 31, 2012 (edited) That link does not work for me either, it says I have to log in. However the link that M23 posted works for me. edit: here's a link to a screenshot of the page that loads when I click that link. http://au3stuff.somdcomputerguy.com/FireShot%20Screen%20Capture%20%23174%20-%20%27Community%20Message%27.jpg Edited January 31, 2012 by somdcomputerguy - Bruce /*somdcomputerguy */ If you change the way you look at things, the things you look at change.
Chimaera Posted January 31, 2012 Posted January 31, 2012 Yep the M23 link works for me If Ive just helped you ... miracles do happen. Chimaera CopyRobo() * Hidden Admin Account Enabler * Software Location From Registry * Find Display Resolution * _ChangeServices()
Moderators Melba23 Posted January 31, 2012 Moderators Posted January 31, 2012 the M23 linkI thought that took you to Gatwick? M23 Any of my own code posted anywhere on the forum is available for use by others without any restriction of any kind Open spoiler to see my UDFs: Spoiler ArrayMultiColSort ---- Sort arrays on multiple columnsChooseFileFolder ---- Single and multiple selections from specified path treeview listingDate_Time_Convert -- Easily convert date/time formats, including the language usedExtMsgBox --------- A highly customisable replacement for MsgBoxGUIExtender -------- Extend and retract multiple sections within a GUIGUIFrame ---------- Subdivide GUIs into many adjustable framesGUIListViewEx ------- Insert, delete, move, drag, sort, edit and colour ListView itemsGUITreeViewEx ------ Check/clear parent and child checkboxes in a TreeViewMarquee ----------- Scrolling tickertape GUIsNoFocusLines ------- Remove the dotted focus lines from buttons, sliders, radios and checkboxesNotify ------------- Small notifications on the edge of the displayScrollbars ----------Automatically sized scrollbars with a single commandStringSize ---------- Automatically size controls to fit textToast -------------- Small GUIs which pop out of the notification area
somdcomputerguy Posted January 31, 2012 Posted January 31, 2012 I thought that took you to Gatwick? M23Gatwick at DuckDuckGo - Bruce /*somdcomputerguy */ If you change the way you look at things, the things you look at change.
danielle Posted February 8, 2012 Posted February 8, 2012 That link does not work for me either, it says I have to log in. However the link that M23 posted works for me.edit: here's a link to a screenshot of the page that loads when I click that link.http://au3stuff.somdcomputerguy.com/Fire...3174%20-%20%27Community%20MessHi,neither link works for me and I'm already signed in: you can see the error I got here:http://dl.dropbox.com/u/13854097/autoIT%20error.pngI need 5 posts just to view the presentation?Thanks,Danielle
Joy321 Posted May 22, 2015 Posted May 22, 2015 Hello,I am new to AutoIt and exploring my options to automate windows GUI application using AutoIt. Our application is developed in C++ BORLAND. Our application connects to DB as-well. Is AutoIt is a good option for me ? I could able to access the above link posted by M23. Thank you for your help.
BrewManNH Posted May 22, 2015 Posted May 22, 2015 Open a new thread with your question, this one is 6 years old, with a 3 year old necropost at the end. And now you've necroed it again 3 years later. If I posted any code, assume that code was written using the latest release version unless stated otherwise. Also, if it doesn't work on XP I can't help with that because I don't have access to XP, and I'm not going to.Give a programmer the correct code and he can do his work for a day. Teach a programmer to debug and he can do his work for a lifetime - by Chirag GudeHow to ask questions the smart way! I hereby grant any person the right to use any code I post, that I am the original author of, on the autoitscript.com forums, unless I've specifically stated otherwise in the code or the thread post. If you do use my code all I ask, as a courtesy, is to make note of where you got it from. Back up and restore Windows user files _Array.au3 - Modified array functions that include support for 2D arrays. - ColorChooser - An add-on for SciTE that pops up a color dialog so you can select and paste a color code into a script. - Customizable Splashscreen GUI w/Progress Bar - Create a custom "splash screen" GUI with a progress bar and custom label. - _FileGetProperty - Retrieve the properties of a file - SciTE Toolbar - A toolbar demo for use with the SciTE editor - GUIRegisterMsg demo - Demo script to show how to use the Windows messages to interact with controls and your GUI. - Latin Square password generator
Moderators Melba23 Posted May 22, 2015 Moderators Posted May 22, 2015 Joy321,Welcome to the AutoIt forums.This is a very old thread and we discourage necro-posting for several reasons:- 1. The language advances and the functionality might well be included in core or UDF code by now- 2. The changes in language syntax mean that it is likely that code from more than a couple of years ago may well not run under the current release interpreter without significant modification.I suggest you open a new thread and ask your question. And the link does not work because there have been umpteen forum upgrades since I posted it.M23 Any of my own code posted anywhere on the forum is available for use by others without any restriction of any kind Open spoiler to see my UDFs: Spoiler ArrayMultiColSort ---- Sort arrays on multiple columnsChooseFileFolder ---- Single and multiple selections from specified path treeview listingDate_Time_Convert -- Easily convert date/time formats, including the language usedExtMsgBox --------- A highly customisable replacement for MsgBoxGUIExtender -------- Extend and retract multiple sections within a GUIGUIFrame ---------- Subdivide GUIs into many adjustable framesGUIListViewEx ------- Insert, delete, move, drag, sort, edit and colour ListView itemsGUITreeViewEx ------ Check/clear parent and child checkboxes in a TreeViewMarquee ----------- Scrolling tickertape GUIsNoFocusLines ------- Remove the dotted focus lines from buttons, sliders, radios and checkboxesNotify ------------- Small notifications on the edge of the displayScrollbars ----------Automatically sized scrollbars with a single commandStringSize ---------- Automatically size controls to fit textToast -------------- Small GUIs which pop out of the notification area
Recommended Posts