Words Per Minute Typing Speed Calculator

Go to solution Solved by Dan_555,

I've asked for help here numerous times and there's never been a time any problem I had with code wasn't solved.

Yes it might be met with scorn, but I expect that since I am not a coder myself and any working script I made is on a wing and a prayer. 😄

Anyway, with the help of Chat GPT and ironing out the bugs, I made an AutoIt GUI that counts your words per minute.

I thought I might as well share what I made.

I know... "Loads of online sites already do that" but they don't do what this does and I could not find any free tool that does what this does either.😉

With the online typing tests that count words per minute, they make you look at words on screen - but what if you aren't a typist and you have to look at the keyboard when you're typing? I know I do. This GUI doesn't give you anything to type, you can just type in whatever you want.

Also missing from any typical online test is accuracy. My GUI shows you the words per minute with 1 decimal place. Not only that, but it keeps a record (in a text file) of your entire typing history, in terms of how many words per minute you typed, then every time you run the GUI, it shows you what your all-time average typing speed is. As you use the GUI more, it builds up a history of your typing speed so you can get a very accurate average over time.

All you have to do is type something in and stop typing for at least 4 seconds and it will tell you how many words per minute you typed. No need to type for a full minute either, you can type for any amount of time. The text typed is then cleared and you're shown your word per minute count, that's then added to all the other times you tested your typing.

The only reason I made this was because none of the online typing speed tests quite worked the way I wanted and why should I need to be on some website anyway. This will work whether you have an internet connection or not.