mike1950r Posted June 17, 2023 Share Posted June 17, 2023 Hi, I have a problem with the horizontal scroll right arrow in richeditcontrol. If i scrool to the right with the horizontal slider evrything works fine, the scroll is limited by the length of longest line. But if I use the horizontal scroll right arrow and click on it, it scrolls further without limit. $hStyle = BitOR($ES_MULTILINE, $ES_WANTRETURN, $ES_NOHIDESEL, $WS_VSCROLL, $WS_HSCROLL) $hExStyle = $WS_EX_CLIENTEDGE $hWE_Control = _GUICtrlRichEdit_Create($hWE_GUI, "", 0, 0, $iWidth, $iHeight, $hStyle, $hExStyle) Thanks for assistance. Cheers mike Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moderators Melba23 Posted June 17, 2023 Moderators Share Posted June 17, 2023 mike1950r, Scrollbar works just fine for me: #include <GUIConstantsEx.au3> #include <MsgBoxConstants.au3> #include <EditConstants.au3> #include <WindowsConstants.au3> #include <ScrollbarConstants.au3> #include <GuiRichEdit.au3> $sText = "XXXXXXXX xxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxx XXXXXXXXXXXXXX xxxxxxxxxxxxx XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX" $iStyle = BitOR($ES_MULTILINE, $ES_WANTRETURN, $ES_NOHIDESEL, $WS_VSCROLL, $WS_HSCROLL) $iExStyle = $WS_EX_CLIENTEDGE $hGUI = GUICreate("Test", 500, 500) _GUICtrlRichEdit_Create($hGUI, $sText, 10, 10, 400, 300, $iStyle, $iExStyle) GUISetState() While 1 Switch GUIGetMsg() Case $GUI_EVENT_CLOSE Exit EndSwitch WEnd M23  Any of my own code posted anywhere on the forum is available for use by others without any restriction of any kind Open spoiler to see my UDFs: Spoiler ArrayMultiColSort ---- Sort arrays on multiple columnsChooseFileFolder ---- Single and multiple selections from specified path treeview listingDate_Time_Convert -- Easily convert date/time formats, including the language usedExtMsgBox --------- A highly customisable replacement for MsgBoxGUIExtender -------- Extend and retract multiple sections within a GUIGUIFrame ---------- Subdivide GUIs into many adjustable framesGUIListViewEx ------- Insert, delete, move, drag, sort, edit and colour ListView itemsGUITreeViewEx ------ Check/clear parent and child checkboxes in a TreeViewMarquee ----------- Scrolling tickertape GUIsNoFocusLines ------- Remove the dotted focus lines from buttons, sliders, radios and checkboxesNotify ------------- Small notifications on the edge of the displayScrollbars ----------Automatically sized scrollbars with a single commandStringSize ---------- Automatically size controls to fit textToast -------------- Small GUIs which pop out of the notification area  Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mike1950r Posted June 17, 2023 Author Share Posted June 17, 2023 Hi Melba23, thanks for your post. Youre script does exactly the same error like mine. Scroll with slider to max right and everything is fine. It stopes scrolling to the right at the value of longest line. Now click right arrow button horizontal and you will see: It keeps on scrolling even if the max line length has been reached. It has to stop there like the horizontal slider does, but it doesn't. As if it would not know that the longest length has been reached. This is my problem. Â Cheers mike Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moderators Melba23 Posted June 17, 2023 Moderators Share Posted June 17, 2023 mike1950r, Quote and you will see: It keeps on scrolling even if the max line length has been reached. I completely understood your problem and this script does not display the same problem when I run it. I get the scroll until the end of the line and then it stops, just as it should. It makes no difference whether I use the scrollbar thumb or the arrows - the right scroll is limited by the length of the line. Are you are telling me that running the exact script that I posted above allows you unlimited scrolling to the right when using the arrow? M23  Any of my own code posted anywhere on the forum is available for use by others without any restriction of any kind Open spoiler to see my UDFs: Spoiler ArrayMultiColSort ---- Sort arrays on multiple columnsChooseFileFolder ---- Single and multiple selections from specified path treeview listingDate_Time_Convert -- Easily convert date/time formats, including the language usedExtMsgBox --------- A highly customisable replacement for MsgBoxGUIExtender -------- Extend and retract multiple sections within a GUIGUIFrame ---------- Subdivide GUIs into many adjustable framesGUIListViewEx ------- Insert, delete, move, drag, sort, edit and colour ListView itemsGUITreeViewEx ------ Check/clear parent and child checkboxes in a TreeViewMarquee ----------- Scrolling tickertape GUIsNoFocusLines ------- Remove the dotted focus lines from buttons, sliders, radios and checkboxesNotify ------------- Small notifications on the edge of the displayScrollbars ----------Automatically sized scrollbars with a single commandStringSize ---------- Automatically size controls to fit textToast -------------- Small GUIs which pop out of the notification area  Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mike1950r Posted June 18, 2023 Author Share Posted June 18, 2023 10 hours ago, Melba23 said: mike1950r, I completely understood your problem and this script does not display the same problem when I run it. I get the scroll until the end of the line and then it stops, just as it should. It makes no difference whether I use the scrollbar thumb or the arrows - the right scroll is limited by the length of the line. Are you are telling me that running the exact script that I posted above allows you unlimited scrolling to the right when using the arrow? M23 Hi Melba23, thanks for your answer. Yes indeed, I ran exactly your script. Do you think it can be a windows problem? I'm on windows 7pro 64bit. It's strange, I did not pay attention for this before. This problem is not in notepad but it is the same thing in notepad++ and in wordpad. Strange issue though. Cheers mike Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moderators Melba23 Posted June 18, 2023 Moderators Share Posted June 18, 2023 mike1950r, Both Notepad and Wordpad scroll horizontally in a completely normal manner for me, so I would suggest that there is something in your setup that is causing the problem - although I have absolutely no idea what it could be. M23  Any of my own code posted anywhere on the forum is available for use by others without any restriction of any kind Open spoiler to see my UDFs: Spoiler ArrayMultiColSort ---- Sort arrays on multiple columnsChooseFileFolder ---- Single and multiple selections from specified path treeview listingDate_Time_Convert -- Easily convert date/time formats, including the language usedExtMsgBox --------- A highly customisable replacement for MsgBoxGUIExtender -------- Extend and retract multiple sections within a GUIGUIFrame ---------- Subdivide GUIs into many adjustable framesGUIListViewEx ------- Insert, delete, move, drag, sort, edit and colour ListView itemsGUITreeViewEx ------ Check/clear parent and child checkboxes in a TreeViewMarquee ----------- Scrolling tickertape GUIsNoFocusLines ------- Remove the dotted focus lines from buttons, sliders, radios and checkboxesNotify ------------- Small notifications on the edge of the displayScrollbars ----------Automatically sized scrollbars with a single commandStringSize ---------- Automatically size controls to fit textToast -------------- Small GUIs which pop out of the notification area  Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mike1950r Posted June 18, 2023 Author Share Posted June 18, 2023 Hi Melba23, what you mean with "something in your setup" ? which setup do you mean ? Cheers mike Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andreik Posted June 18, 2023 Share Posted June 18, 2023 (edited) Are you aware that since this issue appear across many applications it has nothing to do with AutoIt? So @Melba23 is right, this forum is about AutoIt not to fix some OS issues. Â Edit: in notepad++ I know that it's an option or plugin to allow scrolling beyond the EOF. Check if you have such settings on the apps with this issue. Edited June 18, 2023 by Andreik When the words fail... music speaks. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mike1950r Posted June 18, 2023 Author Share Posted June 18, 2023  Andreik, Melba said he has absolutely no idea what it could be. BTW even if it was no autoit issue, autoit could be able for a workaround to solve this problem. Thanks for the info concerning notepad++ Still could not find such a setting, atleast i would not have enabled such a setting, which makes not sense. Thanks anyway. Cheers mike  Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andreik Posted June 18, 2023 Share Posted June 18, 2023 Try a fresh installation of Notepad++ and see if the issue is persistent. When the words fail... music speaks. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mike1950r Posted June 18, 2023 Author Share Posted June 18, 2023 6 minutes ago, Andreik said: Try a fresh installation of Notepad++ and see if the issue is persistent. Ok, I will have a try. Cheers mike Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mike1950r Posted June 18, 2023 Author Share Posted June 18, 2023 Andreik, updated notepad++ to newest version and issue was gone. Anyway the problem in richedit control still exists. I tried to compile 32bit and 64bit, but in both exe still exists. So I would be very thankful for any suggestions. Thanks so far. Cheers mike Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andreik Posted June 18, 2023 Share Posted June 18, 2023 Just now, mike1950r said: I tried to compile 32bit and 64bit, but in both exe still exists. As I said, I doubt it's something related to AutoIt so you can compile for 8-bits processors as well, you still have to figure it out what's going on with these apps. Try to reinstall WordPad. When the words fail... music speaks. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mike1950r Posted June 18, 2023 Author Share Posted June 18, 2023 Andreik, BTW it's not happening in this script: #include <EditConstants.au3> #include <GUIConstantsEx.au3> #include <WindowsConstants.au3> Example() Func Example() GUICreate("My GUI edit") ; will create a dialog box that when displayed is centered Local $idMyedit = GUICtrlCreateEdit("First line" & @CRLF, 176, 32, 121, 97, $ES_WANTRETURN + $WS_VSCROLL + $WS_HSCROLL + $ES_AUTOVSCROLL + $ES_AUTOHSCROLL) GUISetState(@SW_SHOW) Send("{END}") ; will be append dont' forget 3rd parameter GUICtrlSetData($idMyedit, "Second line", 1) ; Loop until the user exits. While 1 Switch GUIGetMsg() Case $GUI_EVENT_CLOSE ExitLoop EndSwitch WEnd GUIDelete() EndFunc ;==>Example This is normal editor and not rich editor. Cheers mike Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andreik Posted June 18, 2023 Share Posted June 18, 2023 You already said that Notepad works fine, so it's expected since Notepad use an Edit control. When the words fail... music speaks. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mike1950r Posted June 18, 2023 Author Share Posted June 18, 2023 OK, so atleast it comes closer: Normal Edit Control is allright / Rich Edit Control has the problem. We never give up ... 😉 Cheers mike Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andreik Posted June 18, 2023 Share Posted June 18, 2023 As I said, try a fresh installation of Wordpad, maybe this will fix your issue. When the words fail... music speaks. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mike1950r Posted June 18, 2023 Author Share Posted June 18, 2023 Why should I reinstall wordpad, which is part of windows, and how should i do this. Also i do not understand why this should solve my richedit problem with autoit. Sorry, I am a bit confused. 😕 cheers mike Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andreik Posted June 18, 2023 Share Posted June 18, 2023 How do you think RichEdit control works in AutoIt, by magic? If some dlls are broken or missing or whatever, by reinstalling wordpad you might get a fix and the result will be seen in AutoIt as well. And really, do a basic google search to learn how to install/reinstall wordpad. When the words fail... music speaks. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mike1950r Posted June 18, 2023 Author Share Posted June 18, 2023 1 hour ago, Andreik said: install/reinstall wordpad I have googled, but cannot find a way to install wordpad of windows 7. Is there another way to solve this problem? Thanks for assistance cheers mike Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Create an account or sign in to comment
You need to be a member in order to leave a comment
Create an account
Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!
Register a new accountSign in
Already have an account? Sign in here.
Sign In Now