Listen to barcode input on non-Autoit active form.

AhGohGoh

Hi! I am new to AutoIt.

I am working on a project. There is a program call "Production" where we use barcode scanner to scan our Job Number which is in barcode format to "check-in" into the multi-coat department. Our customer service are able to check the job process status then.

We have 3 types of multi-coat. My intention is to create a hidden form (in system tray) to listen to barcode scanner input whenever this "Production" window is active. I will use this input to check from our database server for the type of multi-coat to help them to separate type of multi-coat by playing different sounds.

AutoIt Window Info unable to get the controlname for the textbox which forcing me to listen to barcode scanner input.

I have did search and tried on RawInput.au3 but don't know how and unable to get the input from barcode scanner.

My barcode scanner is Symbol LS2208 UBS type.

Can someone help me with example how to listen? I only need to listen when the "Production" program is active.

I understand that it like keylogger but I swear I am not using it for hacking.

Thank you in advance.

image_2022-12-30_154725380.png

Why did you put it in AutoItX ?  You should ask a mod to move it to GH&S, I believe.

Do you see your barcode scanner as a device when you use _WinAPI_EnumRawInputDevices ?

It is suppose to emulate keyboard entry when you scan a bardcode, right ?  If so can you scan a few barcodes, put it in Notepad, save it to file and post the file.txt here so we can see what the messages looks like.

Edited by Nine

Thank you for your response @Nine.

I have to say sorry first as I am not a "qualified" programmer. I learn programming by myself as a habit and I am using my working environment as an opportunity to try out my programming skill.

Due to that, I don't understand the meaning of "ask a mod to move it to GH&S". However, I will google for the meaning.