AutoIT vs Python question

NicolasB

Hello,

I am very new to AutoIT. I've been playing around with the tool and created script about basic Windows GUI actions (ie Open Excel Spreadheet, refresh all, save and close), and this makes me wonder: are there things that AutoIT can do that Python can't re: Windows UI automation?

I'm trying to convince my team to switch to AutoIT. Any arguments any one can give me will be great!

Thanks!

Both languages are good to work with. One big difference between them is Python has multi-threading support. AutoIT doesn't. Unless you are building major applications, this should not be a problem. AutoIt is also intended for windows. Python is portable. 

AutoIt is very easy to do automation. When it was first conceived, that was the intent of the language. Over the years it grew into the language it is today.  I code in many languages, depending on the need. No one language is the swiss army knife of computer languages. If your team is comfortable with Python & it meets their needs, then I'd go with that. You may want to do a demo on how to do things in both languages if you see how things could be made easier. You may find AUtoIt is easier or Python is easier - it ALL depends on your needs. 

One big thing with AUtoIT is you don't need to have libraries. All the coding you need can be placed in a single script and compiled.  Scripts to automate can be very simple. The forum has thousands of examples of scripts that can do just about anything. 

Not sure if this answers your question. 

He hasn't come back since his post.  I do not think it is that important for him.  We all prefer some technologies over other.  He is that kind of person, and I must admit I was part of those ppl long time ago. So if I was to convince some persons that AutoIt is the best tool, well I suppose that giving extensive training on AutoIt would help solving the problem.

• 11 months later...