RegiOween Posted May 27, 2016 Posted May 27, 2016 Hello folks! I'm trying to create a function name after a variable, so I read about Assign and Eval, but this example didn't work: $Test = "Test" HotKeySet("{End}", $Test) Assign("Test", "Test()") ProcessWait("") Func Eval("Test") MsgBox(0, "", $Test) EndFunc This test returns the message "Error: Badly formatted Func statement." I don't know if this is possible, but as an old brazilian quote says, "Ask don't hurt". Thanks in advance, RegiOween
Moderators Melba23 Posted May 27, 2016 Moderators Posted May 27, 2016 RegiOween, If you want to call a function based on the content of a variable then I would do something like this: expandcollapse popup#include <GUIConstantsEx.au3> #include <MsgBoxConstants.au3> HotKeySet("{END}", "_Test") $sTest = "" $hGUI = GUICreate("Test", 500, 500) $cRadio_1 = GUICtrlCreateRadio("Func_1", 10, 10, 100, 20) $cRadio_2 = GUICtrlCreateRadio("Func_2", 10, 40, 100, 20) GUISetState() While 1 Switch GUIGetMsg() Case $GUI_EVENT_CLOSE Exit Case $cRadio_1 $sTest = "_Func_Name_1" Case $cRadio_2 $sTest = "_Func_Name_2" EndSwitch WEnd Func _Test() If $sTest <> "" Then Call($sTest) EndIf EndFunc Func _Func_Name_1() MsgBox($MB_SYSTEMMODAL, "Hi", "Func 1") EndFunc Func _Func_Name_2() MsgBox($MB_SYSTEMMODAL, "Hi", "Func 2") EndFunc Please ask if you have any questions. M23 Any of my own code posted anywhere on the forum is available for use by others without any restriction of any kind Open spoiler to see my UDFs: Spoiler ArrayMultiColSort ---- Sort arrays on multiple columnsChooseFileFolder ---- Single and multiple selections from specified path treeview listingDate_Time_Convert -- Easily convert date/time formats, including the language usedExtMsgBox --------- A highly customisable replacement for MsgBoxGUIExtender -------- Extend and retract multiple sections within a GUIGUIFrame ---------- Subdivide GUIs into many adjustable framesGUIListViewEx ------- Insert, delete, move, drag, sort, edit and colour ListView itemsGUITreeViewEx ------ Check/clear parent and child checkboxes in a TreeViewMarquee ----------- Scrolling tickertape GUIsNoFocusLines ------- Remove the dotted focus lines from buttons, sliders, radios and checkboxesNotify ------------- Small notifications on the edge of the displayScrollbars ----------Automatically sized scrollbars with a single commandStringSize ---------- Automatically size controls to fit textToast -------------- Small GUIs which pop out of the notification area
BrewManNH Posted May 27, 2016 Posted May 27, 2016 You can't do it that way, but you can create a variable that references the function instead. $Test = Test HotKeySet("{End}", $Test) ProcessWait("") Func Test() MsgBox(0, "", "Test") Exit EndFunc There's no such thing as a run time function name. If I posted any code, assume that code was written using the latest release version unless stated otherwise. Also, if it doesn't work on XP I can't help with that because I don't have access to XP, and I'm not going to.Give a programmer the correct code and he can do his work for a day. Teach a programmer to debug and he can do his work for a lifetime - by Chirag GudeHow to ask questions the smart way! I hereby grant any person the right to use any code I post, that I am the original author of, on the autoitscript.com forums, unless I've specifically stated otherwise in the code or the thread post. If you do use my code all I ask, as a courtesy, is to make note of where you got it from. Back up and restore Windows user files _Array.au3 - Modified array functions that include support for 2D arrays. - ColorChooser - An add-on for SciTE that pops up a color dialog so you can select and paste a color code into a script. - Customizable Splashscreen GUI w/Progress Bar - Create a custom "splash screen" GUI with a progress bar and custom label. - _FileGetProperty - Retrieve the properties of a file - SciTE Toolbar - A toolbar demo for use with the SciTE editor - GUIRegisterMsg demo - Demo script to show how to use the Windows messages to interact with controls and your GUI. - Latin Square password generator
RegiOween Posted May 27, 2016 Author Posted May 27, 2016 Melba, Thanks for the quick response, but in your example, you had to explicitly define the name of the functions anyway, and that's what I'm trying to avoid. My purpose is to build a customizable horizontal toolbar for Photoshop (it's done already, but using literal names, of course). Just a snippet below: $PHOTOSHOP = "[CLASS:Photoshop]" $TOOL = "Brightness_Contrast" $ICONS = "Icons\" $BRIGHTNESS_CONTRAST = GUICtrlCreateButton("", 0, 0, 28, 28, $BS_BITMAP) GUICtrlSetImage(-1, $ICONS & $TOOL & ".bmp") GUICtrlSetTip(-1, $TOOL) GUICtrlSetOnEvent($BRIGHTNESS_CONTRAST, "Brightness_Contrast") Func Brightness_Contrast() WinActivate($PHOTOSHOP) ControlSend($PHOTOSHOP, "", "", "^b") EndFunc This is just the code of one button, but my custom toolbar had dozens already, so I would like to avoid repeating strings every time I put a new button. If you call me lazy, you're damn right...
BrewManNH Posted May 27, 2016 Posted May 27, 2016 As I stated previously, there's no such thing as a run time function name, they have to be explicitly named prior to running the script. Frankly, I can't see how a run-time named function would work in the real world, or why you would want to not know the names of your functions if you're the author of the script. If I posted any code, assume that code was written using the latest release version unless stated otherwise. Also, if it doesn't work on XP I can't help with that because I don't have access to XP, and I'm not going to.Give a programmer the correct code and he can do his work for a day. Teach a programmer to debug and he can do his work for a lifetime - by Chirag GudeHow to ask questions the smart way! I hereby grant any person the right to use any code I post, that I am the original author of, on the autoitscript.com forums, unless I've specifically stated otherwise in the code or the thread post. If you do use my code all I ask, as a courtesy, is to make note of where you got it from. Back up and restore Windows user files _Array.au3 - Modified array functions that include support for 2D arrays. - ColorChooser - An add-on for SciTE that pops up a color dialog so you can select and paste a color code into a script. - Customizable Splashscreen GUI w/Progress Bar - Create a custom "splash screen" GUI with a progress bar and custom label. - _FileGetProperty - Retrieve the properties of a file - SciTE Toolbar - A toolbar demo for use with the SciTE editor - GUIRegisterMsg demo - Demo script to show how to use the Windows messages to interact with controls and your GUI. - Latin Square password generator
Moderators Melba23 Posted May 27, 2016 Moderators Posted May 27, 2016 RegiOween, A pity you did not explain more clearly in the OP - then the responders would not have wasted their time replying to the originally posted problem which has little to do with what you actually want. Perhaps something like this might be useful: $BRIGHTNESS_CONTRAST = GUICtrlCreateButton("", 0, 0, 28, 28, $BS_BITMAP) GUICtrlSetOnEvent($BRIGHTNESS_CONTRAST, "_Toolbar_Buttons") $OTHER_BUTTON = GUICtrlCreateButton("", 0, 0, 28, 28, $BS_BITMAP) GUICtrlSetOnEvent($OTHER_BUTTON, "_Toolbar_Buttons") Func _Toolbar_Buttons() WinActivate($PHOTOSHOP) $sSend = "" Switch @GUI_CtrlId Case $BRIGHTNESS_CONTRAST $sSend = "^b" Case $OTHER_BUTTON $sSend = "!Foo" EndSwitch If $sSend Then ControlSend($PHOTOSHOP, "", "", $sSend) EndIf EndFunc ;==>_Toolbar_Buttons Now you have just the one function and what you actually send is determined by which button you press. Adding a button just requires a new Case. M23 Any of my own code posted anywhere on the forum is available for use by others without any restriction of any kind Open spoiler to see my UDFs: Spoiler ArrayMultiColSort ---- Sort arrays on multiple columnsChooseFileFolder ---- Single and multiple selections from specified path treeview listingDate_Time_Convert -- Easily convert date/time formats, including the language usedExtMsgBox --------- A highly customisable replacement for MsgBoxGUIExtender -------- Extend and retract multiple sections within a GUIGUIFrame ---------- Subdivide GUIs into many adjustable framesGUIListViewEx ------- Insert, delete, move, drag, sort, edit and colour ListView itemsGUITreeViewEx ------ Check/clear parent and child checkboxes in a TreeViewMarquee ----------- Scrolling tickertape GUIsNoFocusLines ------- Remove the dotted focus lines from buttons, sliders, radios and checkboxesNotify ------------- Small notifications on the edge of the displayScrollbars ----------Automatically sized scrollbars with a single commandStringSize ---------- Automatically size controls to fit textToast -------------- Small GUIs which pop out of the notification area
RegiOween Posted May 27, 2016 Author Posted May 27, 2016 Quote Frankly, I can't see how a run-time named function would work in the real world, or why you would want to not know the names of your functions if you're the author of the script. Brew, The main reason (not much important, I admit) is to make the task to add new buttons easier, avoid typing repeated strings. In the snippet code I gave above, if evaluated variable content would be possible to create functions, I could just label one variable with the name of the button ($TOOL in the example), and all the subsequent names could use its content. Extravagant ideas from a lazy programmer...
BrewManNH Posted May 27, 2016 Posted May 27, 2016 How would that work? You'd have a new button pointing to what? Just because you give it a function name, if the function doesn't exist yet it won't do anything except error out. If I posted any code, assume that code was written using the latest release version unless stated otherwise. Also, if it doesn't work on XP I can't help with that because I don't have access to XP, and I'm not going to.Give a programmer the correct code and he can do his work for a day. Teach a programmer to debug and he can do his work for a lifetime - by Chirag GudeHow to ask questions the smart way! I hereby grant any person the right to use any code I post, that I am the original author of, on the autoitscript.com forums, unless I've specifically stated otherwise in the code or the thread post. If you do use my code all I ask, as a courtesy, is to make note of where you got it from. Back up and restore Windows user files _Array.au3 - Modified array functions that include support for 2D arrays. - ColorChooser - An add-on for SciTE that pops up a color dialog so you can select and paste a color code into a script. - Customizable Splashscreen GUI w/Progress Bar - Create a custom "splash screen" GUI with a progress bar and custom label. - _FileGetProperty - Retrieve the properties of a file - SciTE Toolbar - A toolbar demo for use with the SciTE editor - GUIRegisterMsg demo - Demo script to show how to use the Windows messages to interact with controls and your GUI. - Latin Square password generator
RegiOween Posted May 27, 2016 Author Posted May 27, 2016 (edited) Melba, I apologize if I wasn't clear in my first post about what I was intended to do. And your last code is much more simple and efficient (just one function for all the buttons) than what I did in my own code (one function for each button). Many thanks! Brew, I was thinking in something like this: Assign("VAR", "String()") Func Eval("VAR") ... EndFunc In this little example, I guess it would be possible to create a function called String(), based on the content of $VAR, but I was wrong, so Melba provided a much better way to handle my purpose. Many thanks for your attention! RegiOween Edited May 27, 2016 by RegiOween
Moderators Melba23 Posted May 27, 2016 Moderators Posted May 27, 2016 RegiOween, Glad I could help. M23 Any of my own code posted anywhere on the forum is available for use by others without any restriction of any kind Open spoiler to see my UDFs: Spoiler ArrayMultiColSort ---- Sort arrays on multiple columnsChooseFileFolder ---- Single and multiple selections from specified path treeview listingDate_Time_Convert -- Easily convert date/time formats, including the language usedExtMsgBox --------- A highly customisable replacement for MsgBoxGUIExtender -------- Extend and retract multiple sections within a GUIGUIFrame ---------- Subdivide GUIs into many adjustable framesGUIListViewEx ------- Insert, delete, move, drag, sort, edit and colour ListView itemsGUITreeViewEx ------ Check/clear parent and child checkboxes in a TreeViewMarquee ----------- Scrolling tickertape GUIsNoFocusLines ------- Remove the dotted focus lines from buttons, sliders, radios and checkboxesNotify ------------- Small notifications on the edge of the displayScrollbars ----------Automatically sized scrollbars with a single commandStringSize ---------- Automatically size controls to fit textToast -------------- Small GUIs which pop out of the notification area
jchd Posted May 27, 2016 Posted May 27, 2016 Melba's solution is superior but there exists another possibility closer to what you had in mind in the first time: Execute() would allow just that. But, again, prefer Melba's code. This wonderful site allows debugging and testing regular expressions (many flavors available). An absolute must have in your bookmarks.Another excellent RegExp tutorial. Don't forget downloading your copy of up-to-date pcretest.exe and pcregrep.exe hereRegExp tutorial: enough to get startedPCRE v8.33 regexp documentation latest available release and currently implemented in AutoIt beta. SQLitespeed is another feature-rich premier SQLite manager (includes import/export). Well worth a try.SQLite Expert (freeware Personal Edition or payware Pro version) is a very useful SQLite database manager.An excellent eBook covering almost every aspect of SQLite3: a must-read for anyone doing serious work.SQL tutorial (covers "generic" SQL, but most of it applies to SQLite as well)A work-in-progress SQLite3 tutorial. Don't miss other LxyzTHW pages!SQLite official website with full documentation (may be newer than the SQLite library that comes standard with AutoIt)
RegiOween Posted May 29, 2016 Author Posted May 29, 2016 jchd, Thanks to comment, but I didn't get how Execute can come closer to what I had in mind in the first time. Can you please show me some example? To AutoIt developers and experts, considering it's already possible to dynamically deal with variables using Assign and Eval, don't you think it would be a nice improvement to use parameters to create a function name?
jchd Posted May 29, 2016 Posted May 29, 2016 I can't see a good reason why this would be useful, but you can always use something like this (keeping in mind that Melba's code is FAR better): Local $func = "MyFunction_" Local $SomeParameter = "Hello!" Execute($func & "xyz" & "($SomeParameter)") Local $i = 40 Execute($func & ($i + 3) & "($SomeParameter & @LF & 'little world!')") Func MyFunction_xyz($s) MsgBox(0, "", $s) EndFunc Func MyFunction_43($s) MsgBox(0, "", $s) EndFunc This wonderful site allows debugging and testing regular expressions (many flavors available). An absolute must have in your bookmarks.Another excellent RegExp tutorial. Don't forget downloading your copy of up-to-date pcretest.exe and pcregrep.exe hereRegExp tutorial: enough to get startedPCRE v8.33 regexp documentation latest available release and currently implemented in AutoIt beta. SQLitespeed is another feature-rich premier SQLite manager (includes import/export). Well worth a try.SQLite Expert (freeware Personal Edition or payware Pro version) is a very useful SQLite database manager.An excellent eBook covering almost every aspect of SQLite3: a must-read for anyone doing serious work.SQL tutorial (covers "generic" SQL, but most of it applies to SQLite as well)A work-in-progress SQLite3 tutorial. Don't miss other LxyzTHW pages!SQLite official website with full documentation (may be newer than the SQLite library that comes standard with AutoIt)
Moderators Melba23 Posted May 29, 2016 Moderators Posted May 29, 2016 RegiOween, Quote To AutoIt developers and experts, considering it's already possible to dynamically deal with variables using Assign and Eval, don't you think it would be a nice improvement to use parameters to create a function name? In short - No! Use code such as I suggested, as jchd as pointed out at least twice. M23 Any of my own code posted anywhere on the forum is available for use by others without any restriction of any kind Open spoiler to see my UDFs: Spoiler ArrayMultiColSort ---- Sort arrays on multiple columnsChooseFileFolder ---- Single and multiple selections from specified path treeview listingDate_Time_Convert -- Easily convert date/time formats, including the language usedExtMsgBox --------- A highly customisable replacement for MsgBoxGUIExtender -------- Extend and retract multiple sections within a GUIGUIFrame ---------- Subdivide GUIs into many adjustable framesGUIListViewEx ------- Insert, delete, move, drag, sort, edit and colour ListView itemsGUITreeViewEx ------ Check/clear parent and child checkboxes in a TreeViewMarquee ----------- Scrolling tickertape GUIsNoFocusLines ------- Remove the dotted focus lines from buttons, sliders, radios and checkboxesNotify ------------- Small notifications on the edge of the displayScrollbars ----------Automatically sized scrollbars with a single commandStringSize ---------- Automatically size controls to fit textToast -------------- Small GUIs which pop out of the notification area
RegiOween Posted May 29, 2016 Author Posted May 29, 2016 Hello, jchd! Thanks for the quick response, and now I got your point, but I think this solution would fit just if I wanted to dynamically execute a function, but the original idea starting the post was actually create a function dynamically, using a variable content. As I stated before, I was trying to create a function after a button label, so I could use this same string in any part of the code related to the button. Something like this: $Tool = "Save_Image" Assign(Eval("Tool"), GUICtrlCreateButton("", 1, 1, 28, 28, $BS_BITMAP)) GUICtrlSetImage(-1, $Tool & ".bmp") GUICtrlSetTip(-1, StringReplace($Tool, "_", " ")) GUICtrlSetOnEvent(-1, $Tool) Func Eval($Tool) & "()" Send("^s") EndFunc As you can see, the intention was to create a function named "Save_Image()" using the content of the variable $Tool, since the variable $Save_Image was already dynamically created through Assign. Of course this code didn't work, because Func statement doesn't accept parameters in its name, so that's why I think it would be an improvement to the language if that would be possible. Anyway, Melba solution worked perfectly to me, so I'm using it in my project. Thanks again, RegiOween
Recommended Posts
Create an account or sign in to comment
You need to be a member in order to leave a comment
Create an account
Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!
Register a new accountSign in
Already have an account? Sign in here.
Sign In Now