Iceburg Posted November 10, 2012 Posted November 10, 2012 I'm trying to figure out a way to do the following, and I can't come up with the logic to code. I have 12 iterations of a function. _function(1,1,1) _fucntion(1,2,1) _function(1,3,1) . . . _function(1,12,1) The script runs once an hour, but I don't always want it to start on (1,1,1), I want it to be random. So, I was thinking I could do $start_iteration = random(1,12,1) and get a random number and start at that one, but how do I make it go back and make sure its done the 1 through 6, if the starting number is 7?
Moderators Melba23 Posted November 10, 2012 Moderators Posted November 10, 2012 Iceburg,If you have not yet used the Mod function - here is your chance: $iStart = Random(0, 11, 1) For $i = 0 To 11 ConsoleWrite(Mod($i + $iStart, 12) + 1 & @CRLF) NextAny questions? M23 Any of my own code posted anywhere on the forum is available for use by others without any restriction of any kind Open spoiler to see my UDFs: Spoiler ArrayMultiColSort ---- Sort arrays on multiple columnsChooseFileFolder ---- Single and multiple selections from specified path treeview listingDate_Time_Convert -- Easily convert date/time formats, including the language usedExtMsgBox --------- A highly customisable replacement for MsgBoxGUIExtender -------- Extend and retract multiple sections within a GUIGUIFrame ---------- Subdivide GUIs into many adjustable framesGUIListViewEx ------- Insert, delete, move, drag, sort, edit and colour ListView itemsGUITreeViewEx ------ Check/clear parent and child checkboxes in a TreeViewMarquee ----------- Scrolling tickertape GUIsNoFocusLines ------- Remove the dotted focus lines from buttons, sliders, radios and checkboxesNotify ------------- Small notifications on the edge of the displayScrollbars ----------Automatically sized scrollbars with a single commandStringSize ---------- Automatically size controls to fit textToast -------------- Small GUIs which pop out of the notification area
Iceburg Posted November 10, 2012 Author Posted November 10, 2012 No questions, at least until I look up and understand Mod. Thanks Melba.
czardas Posted November 10, 2012 Posted November 10, 2012 I have read this question several times and I really don't understand it. If the starting number turns out to be 7, then you run 1 to 7 in order (or) you run 1 to 6 in random order followed by 7 (or) you run 7 followed by 1 to 6 in order (or) you run run 7 followed by 1 to 6 in random order. I also don't know what happens after you have run 1 to 7 (whatever order) nor do I know what happens if the start is not 7. So where's the logic? operator64 ArrayWorkshop
JohnOne Posted November 10, 2012 Posted November 10, 2012 (edited) Says to me, the second parameter needs to go from 1 to a random number, less one. $start_iteration = random(1,12,1 For $i = 1 To $start_iteration -1 _function(1,$i,1) Next Edited November 10, 2012 by JohnOne AutoIt Absolute Beginners Require a serial Pause Script Video Tutorials by Morthawt ipify Monkey's are, like, natures humans.
AdmiralAlkex Posted November 10, 2012 Posted November 10, 2012 He wants to loop all numbers from a random starting point. Or run Melba's code if you don't get it. .Some of my scripts: ShiftER, Codec-Control, Resolution switcher for HTC ShiftSome of my UDFs: SDL UDF, SetDefaultDllDirectories, Converting GDI+ Bitmap/Image to SDL Surface
czardas Posted November 10, 2012 Posted November 10, 2012 (edited) I don't get how Melba's code addresses the question (as it is written).how do I make it go back and make sure its done the 1 through 6, if the starting number is 7?The wording may indicate that starting on 7 is forbidden (or at least that the result is not always sequential). This ambiguity casts doubt on all other assumptions one mght make about the question. Melba's code does not go back when the starting number is 7, but instead it keeps going to 12 (no matter).EditIn fact I'm quite impressed that Melba was able to decypher this. Edited November 11, 2012 by czardas operator64 ArrayWorkshop
Iceburg Posted November 11, 2012 Author Posted November 11, 2012 Hey Melba, Thanks for the code, mod is definitely the right answer. In my original example, my functions are logically increasing in numbers passed to the function and its easy to replace that number . What if there are 12 different functions that I want to run in that random order? Assign random Mod numbers to each function? Thanks again for the help here.
Moderators Melba23 Posted November 11, 2012 Moderators Posted November 11, 2012 Iceburg,I would put the function names into an array and then use the numbers generated as the indices to pull the name and run it using Call:expandcollapse popupGlobal $aFuncs[5] =["Func_1", "Func_2", "Func_3", "Func_4", "Func_5"] While 1 $iStart = Random(0, 4, 1) For $i = 0 To 4 $iIndex = Mod($i + $iStart, 5) Call($aFuncs[$iIndex]) Next ConsoleWrite(@CRLF) If MsgBox(4, "Finished", "Ready for another run?") = 7 Then ExitLoop EndIf WEnd Func Func_1() ConsoleWrite("Func 1 called" & @CRLF) EndFunc Func Func_2() ConsoleWrite("Func 2 called" & @CRLF) EndFunc Func Func_3() ConsoleWrite("Func 3 called" & @CRLF) EndFunc Func Func_4() ConsoleWrite("Func 4 called" & @CRLF) EndFunc Func Func_5() ConsoleWrite("Func 5 called" & @CRLF) EndFuncAll clear? M23 Iceburg 1 Any of my own code posted anywhere on the forum is available for use by others without any restriction of any kind Open spoiler to see my UDFs: Spoiler ArrayMultiColSort ---- Sort arrays on multiple columnsChooseFileFolder ---- Single and multiple selections from specified path treeview listingDate_Time_Convert -- Easily convert date/time formats, including the language usedExtMsgBox --------- A highly customisable replacement for MsgBoxGUIExtender -------- Extend and retract multiple sections within a GUIGUIFrame ---------- Subdivide GUIs into many adjustable framesGUIListViewEx ------- Insert, delete, move, drag, sort, edit and colour ListView itemsGUITreeViewEx ------ Check/clear parent and child checkboxes in a TreeViewMarquee ----------- Scrolling tickertape GUIsNoFocusLines ------- Remove the dotted focus lines from buttons, sliders, radios and checkboxesNotify ------------- Small notifications on the edge of the displayScrollbars ----------Automatically sized scrollbars with a single commandStringSize ---------- Automatically size controls to fit textToast -------------- Small GUIs which pop out of the notification area
Iceburg Posted November 11, 2012 Author Posted November 11, 2012 Thats perfect, and got it working, thank you much!
Moderators Melba23 Posted November 11, 2012 Moderators Posted November 11, 2012 Iceburg,Glad I could help. Incidentally, just for completeness you can also do the loopback like this:$iStart = Random(1, 12, 1) For $i = $iStart To 12 ConsoleWrite($i & @CRLF) Next For $i = 1 To $iStart -1 ConsoleWrite($i & @CRLF) NextBut using Mod is far more elegant in my opinion. M23 Iceburg 1 Any of my own code posted anywhere on the forum is available for use by others without any restriction of any kind Open spoiler to see my UDFs: Spoiler ArrayMultiColSort ---- Sort arrays on multiple columnsChooseFileFolder ---- Single and multiple selections from specified path treeview listingDate_Time_Convert -- Easily convert date/time formats, including the language usedExtMsgBox --------- A highly customisable replacement for MsgBoxGUIExtender -------- Extend and retract multiple sections within a GUIGUIFrame ---------- Subdivide GUIs into many adjustable framesGUIListViewEx ------- Insert, delete, move, drag, sort, edit and colour ListView itemsGUITreeViewEx ------ Check/clear parent and child checkboxes in a TreeViewMarquee ----------- Scrolling tickertape GUIsNoFocusLines ------- Remove the dotted focus lines from buttons, sliders, radios and checkboxesNotify ------------- Small notifications on the edge of the displayScrollbars ----------Automatically sized scrollbars with a single commandStringSize ---------- Automatically size controls to fit textToast -------------- Small GUIs which pop out of the notification area
czardas Posted November 11, 2012 Posted November 11, 2012 (edited) Iceburg, you might find it interesting to look at It's in the attachment at the end of the linked topic. It gives more examples of using the Mod function, and you could also use _ArrayModalSelect for Melba's code in post No 9 above. (I think I'll rename that UDF to Modulation.au3) Edited November 11, 2012 by czardas operator64 ArrayWorkshop
Iceburg Posted November 11, 2012 Author Posted November 11, 2012 (edited) Thanks Czardas, I'll take a look. I'm still running into issues, here is the code I am trying to run, modeled after the example from Melba23: Global $aFuncs[5] =["Func_1(3)", "Func_2(4)", "Func_3(5)", "Func_4(8)", "Func_5(9)"] While 1 $iStart = Random(0, 4, 1) For $i = 0 To 4 $iIndex = Mod($i + $iStart, 5) ConsoleWrite($aFuncs[$iIndex]) Call($aFuncs[$iIndex]) Next ConsoleWrite(@CRLF) If MsgBox(4, "Finished", "Ready for another run?") = 7 Then ExitLoop EndIf WEnd Func Func_1($var) ConsoleWrite("Func 1 called " & $var * 4 & @CRLF) EndFunc Func Func_2($var) ConsoleWrite("Func 2 called " & $var * 4 & @CRLF) EndFunc Func Func_3($var) ConsoleWrite("Func 3 called " & $var * 4 & @CRLF) EndFunc Func Func_4($var) ConsoleWrite("Func 4 called " & $var * 4 & @CRLF) EndFunc Func Func_5($var) ConsoleWrite("Func 5 called " & $var * 4 & @CRLF) EndFunc Its breaking cause of the variables in the funtions, but from the console output that I wrote, it appears to call: Func_$iIndex(4), but it doesn't actually ever run it. The console output never shows up. Edited November 11, 2012 by Iceburg czardas 1
Iceburg Posted November 11, 2012 Author Posted November 11, 2012 Spoke too soon, its the way that I declared the functions. This worked: Global $aFuncs[5] =[Func_1(7), Func_2(4), Func_3(5), Func_4(8), Func_5(9)] Thought I was stuck.
JohnOne Posted November 11, 2012 Posted November 11, 2012 Something looks odd with that. AutoIt Absolute Beginners Require a serial Pause Script Video Tutorials by Morthawt ipify Monkey's are, like, natures humans.
Iceburg Posted November 11, 2012 Author Posted November 11, 2012 Probably, its not working, trying to fix it now.
JohnOne Posted November 11, 2012 Posted November 11, 2012 The parameter you want to pass should be the second parameter of the Call function. AutoIt Absolute Beginners Require a serial Pause Script Video Tutorials by Morthawt ipify Monkey's are, like, natures humans.
Iceburg Posted November 11, 2012 Author Posted November 11, 2012 Okay, final answer... doesn't look like the Call accepts args, so I was able to get it working like this: Global $aFuncs[5] =["Func_1", "Func_2", "Func_3", "Func_4", "Func_5"] Global $aVars[5] = ["5", "4", "2", "8", "9"] While 1 $iStart = Random(0, 4, 1) ;ConsoleWrite($iStart & @CRLF) local $i = 0 For $i = 0 To 4 $iIndex = Mod($i + $iStart, 5) ;ConsoleWrite($iIndex) Call($aFuncs[$iIndex], $aVars[$iIndex]) Next ConsoleWrite(@CRLF) If MsgBox(4, "Finished", "Ready for another run?") = 7 Then ExitLoop EndIf WEnd Func Func_1($var) ConsoleWrite("Func 1 called " & $var * 4 & @CRLF) EndFunc Func Func_2($var) ConsoleWrite("Func 2 called " & $var * 4 & @CRLF) EndFunc Func Func_3($var) ConsoleWrite("Func 3 called " & $var * 4 & @CRLF) EndFunc Func Func_4($var) ConsoleWrite("Func 4 called " & $var * 4 & @CRLF) EndFunc Func Func_5($var) ConsoleWrite("Func 5 called " & $var * 4 & @CRLF) EndFunc
JohnOne Posted November 11, 2012 Posted November 11, 2012 It does, and that is what you are passing to it here Call($aFuncs[$iIndex], $aVars[$iIndex]) $aVars[$iIndex] is the parameter/argument AutoIt Absolute Beginners Require a serial Pause Script Video Tutorials by Morthawt ipify Monkey's are, like, natures humans.
Iceburg Posted November 11, 2012 Author Posted November 11, 2012 Is this the right way to do it if there are 20 args to a function? What if its the same function running 6 times with 20 different args?
Recommended Posts
Create an account or sign in to comment
You need to be a member in order to leave a comment
Create an account
Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!
Register a new accountSign in
Already have an account? Sign in here.
Sign In Now