Excalibur Posted June 15, 2006 Share Posted June 15, 2006 A way to disable an "Edit" WITHOUT it turning gray? i'd like an edit box that cannot be typed in, but when i disable the box, it turns the background of the box gray. Best I can come up with is "Cream". Ooo Ëxçã¿îbúr ooO"Information Is Not Knowledge." ~Albert Einstein Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thatsgreat2345 Posted June 15, 2006 Share Posted June 15, 2006 (edited) maybe just putting Guictrlsetdata($INPUTBOXVARIABLE,"") into a loop so it continually sets your input to nothing, or just set the Background color to a different color HAHAHAH woops accidently chose purple instead of white my bad #include <GUIConstants.au3> ; == GUI generated with Koda == $Form1 = GUICreate("AForm1", 622, 441, 192, 125) $Edit1 = GUICtrlCreateEdit("", 128, 24, 169, 305, -1, $WS_EX_CLIENTEDGE) GUICtrlSetBkColor(-1, 0xFFFFFF) GUICtrlSetState(-1, $GUI_DISABLE) GUISetState(@SW_SHOW) While 1 $msg = GuiGetMsg() Select Case $msg = $GUI_EVENT_CLOSE ExitLoop Case Else ;;;;;;; EndSelect WEnd Exit oÝ÷ Ù©Ý¢¶®¶s`¢6æ6ÇVFRfÇC´uT6öç7FçG2æS2fwC°£²ÓÒuTvVæW&FVBvF¶öFÓТb33c´f÷&ÓÒuT7&VFRgV÷C´f÷&ÓgV÷C²Âc#"ÂCCÂ"Â#R¢b33c´VFCÒuT7G&Ä7&VFTVFBgV÷C²gV÷C²Â#Â#BÂcÂ3RÂÓÂb33cµu5ôUô4ÄTåDTDtR¤uT6WE7FFR5uõ4õr¥vÆR¤wV7G&Ç6WDFFb33c´VFCÂgV÷C²gV÷C² b33c¶×6rÒwVvWD×6r 6VÆV7@ 66Rb33c¶×6rÒb33c´uTôUdTåEô4Äõ4P WDÆö÷ 66RVÇ6P ³³³³³³° VæE6VÆV7@¥tVæ@¤W@ Edited June 15, 2006 by thatsgreat2345 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moderators SmOke_N Posted June 15, 2006 Moderators Share Posted June 15, 2006 Would be nice to know if some of the help things actually work for you: ( Like This One )#include <guiconstants.au3> $Main = GUICreate('', 200, 130) $Edit = GUICtrlCreateEdit('', 10, 10, 180, 80) $Button = GUICtrlCreateButton('Disable', 65, 95, 60, 30) GUISetState() While 1 $Msg = GUIGetMsg() Select Case $Msg = - 3 Exit Case $Msg = $Button GUICtrlSetState($Edit, $GUI_DISABLE) GUICtrlSetBkColor($Edit, 0xFFFFFF) EndSelect WEnd Common sense plays a role in the basics of understanding AutoIt... If you're lacking in that, do us all a favor, and step away from the computer. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Excalibur Posted June 15, 2006 Author Share Posted June 15, 2006 thatsgreat: I intend the box to have text in it, just not editable by the user. I want it to be white, and anytime its FFFFFF it turns gray because its white. I dont see what you are attempting to do different in the second code box. It is 1:32am so I might just be missing it. Smokin: your code appears to be doing the same thing. Ooo Ëxçã¿îbúr ooO"Information Is Not Knowledge." ~Albert Einstein Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moderators SmOke_N Posted June 15, 2006 Moderators Share Posted June 15, 2006 (edited) thatsgreat: I intend the box to have text in it, just not editable by the user. I want it to be white, and anytime its FFFFFF it turns gray because its white. I dont see what you are attempting to do different in the second code box. It is 1:32am so I might just be missing it.Smokin: your code appears to be doing the same thing.Same thing? What are you talking about, maybe an example (a script maybe) of what you would like it to look like before and after?Edit:Actually, since I'll never know if it actually worked for you, I think I'll let you or someone else figure it out. Edited June 15, 2006 by SmOke_N Common sense plays a role in the basics of understanding AutoIt... If you're lacking in that, do us all a favor, and step away from the computer. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Excalibur Posted June 15, 2006 Author Share Posted June 15, 2006 smokin: 1) i told you i visually saw no difference between the code. never got a chance to try it. 2) i told you exactly what i did, and what happens. You could have simply just asked for example code. 3) save the drama. Ooo Ëxçã¿îbúr ooO"Information Is Not Knowledge." ~Albert Einstein Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Emperor Posted June 15, 2006 Share Posted June 15, 2006 #include <guiconstants.au3> $Main = GUICreate('', 200, 130) $Edit = GUICtrlCreateEdit('Text', 10, 10, 180, 80, $ES_READONLY) GUICtrlSetBkColor($Edit, 0xFFFFFF) GUISetState() While 1 $Msg = GUIGetMsg() Select Case $Msg = - 3 Exit EndSelect WEnd If that's not what you want I don't know what is Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moderators SmOke_N Posted June 15, 2006 Moderators Share Posted June 15, 2006 (edited) smokin:1) i told you i visually saw no difference between the code. never got a chance to try it.2) i told you exactly what i did, and what happens. You could have simply just asked for example code.3) save the drama.Where does what I posted Not do what you asked below?A way to disable an "Edit" WITHOUT it turning gray? i'd like an edit box that cannot be typed in, but when i disable the box, it turns the background of the box gray. Best I can come up with is "Cream"."You didn't say "anything" about what "you did", only what "you wanted", other than it comes up "cream". And we shouldn't have to ask for anything, that's the standard since I've been on this forum is show what the hell you've done thus far to try and accomplish what you want... (You know... so we don't WAISTE OUR TIME TRYING TO DO SOMETHING YOU'VE ALREADY DONE!!)And the drama is well warranted IMHO...Edit:So, with the above said, it's still left for us to decipher if you mean you don't want the "text" greyed out too, so now we are assuming. Edited June 15, 2006 by SmOke_N Common sense plays a role in the basics of understanding AutoIt... If you're lacking in that, do us all a favor, and step away from the computer. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moderators SmOke_N Posted June 15, 2006 Moderators Share Posted June 15, 2006 For the sake of arguement, I believe this is what you were looking for:#include <guiconstants.au3> Global $SetEditState $Main = GUICreate('', 200, 130) $Edit = GUICtrlCreateEdit('blah', 10, 10, 180, 80) $Button = GUICtrlCreateButton('Disable', 65, 95, 60, 30) GUISetState() While 1 $Msg = GUIGetMsg() Select Case $Msg = - 3 ExitLoop Case $Msg = $Button $SetEditState = Not $SetEditState If $SetEditState Then GUICtrlSetData($Button, 'Enable') GUICtrlSendMsg($Edit, 0xCF, True, 0) GUICtrlSetBkColor($Edit,0xFFFFFF) Else GUICtrlSetData($Button, 'Disable') GUICtrlSendMsg($Edit, 0xCF, False, 0) EndIf EndSelect WEndAt least it will help others if they have the question on how to do something like this. Common sense plays a role in the basics of understanding AutoIt... If you're lacking in that, do us all a favor, and step away from the computer. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
marfdaman Posted June 15, 2006 Share Posted June 15, 2006 (edited) Don't know if this can help (quick adaption of Smoke's gui): #include <guiconstants.au3> Global $SetEditState $Main = GUICreate('', 200, 130) $Edit = GUICtrlCreateEdit('blah', 10, 10, 180, 80) $wantedtext = "blah" GUISetState() While 1 $Msg = GUIGetMsg() $text = GUICtrlRead($Edit) Select Case $text <> "blah" GUICtrlSetData($Edit, $wantedtext) Case $Msg = - 3 ExitLoop EndSelect WEnd Alzo Edited June 15, 2006 by marfdaman Don't take my pic to serious...~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~You Looked, but you did not see!~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Excalibur Posted June 15, 2006 Author Share Posted June 15, 2006 Hmm, well it is very strange, the code you guys post works fine, but not in my program. I must be missing something miniscule. Thank you everyone for your help. Ooo Ëxçã¿îbúr ooO"Information Is Not Knowledge." ~Albert Einstein Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
marfdaman Posted June 15, 2006 Share Posted June 15, 2006 Hmm, well it is very strange, the code you guys post works fine, but not in my program. I must be missing something miniscule. Thank you everyone for your help.If you post it we could have a look here Don't take my pic to serious...~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~You Looked, but you did not see!~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Excalibur Posted June 15, 2006 Author Share Posted June 15, 2006 I was doing something stupid, I figured it out, helped with a full nights sleep. Thanks again. Ooo Ëxçã¿îbúr ooO"Information Is Not Knowledge." ~Albert Einstein Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Excalibur Posted June 15, 2006 Author Share Posted June 15, 2006 Minor, but for the sake of asking, is there any to get it, now that its disabled, that when you click in it, that the cursor will stop blinking in that perticular edit box? Ooo Ëxçã¿îbúr ooO"Information Is Not Knowledge." ~Albert Einstein Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moderators SmOke_N Posted June 15, 2006 Moderators Share Posted June 15, 2006 Minor, but for the sake of asking, is there any to get it, now that its disabled, that when you click in it, that the cursor will stop blinking in that perticular edit box?I can't figure out any other way than this, I'll chalk it up to fatigue:#include <guiconstants.au3> Global $SetEditState, $BlockedEdit $Main = GUICreate('', 200, 130) $Edit = GUICtrlCreateEdit('blah', 10, 10, 180, 80) Global $Edit_Hwnd = ControlGetHandle($Main, '', ControlGetFocus($Main)) $Button = GUICtrlCreateButton('Disable', 65, 95, 60, 30) GUISetState() While 1 $Msg = GUIGetMsg() Select Case $Msg = - 3 ExitLoop Case $Msg = $Button $SetEditState = Not $SetEditState $BlockedEdit = Not $BlockedEdit If $SetEditState Then GUICtrlSetData($Button, 'Enable') GUICtrlSendMsg($Edit, 0xCF, True, 0) GUICtrlSetBkColor($Edit,0xFFFFFF) Else GUICtrlSetData($Button, 'Disable') GUICtrlSendMsg($Edit, 0xCF, False, 0) EndIf EndSelect If $BlockedEdit Then ;Have to put focus on some other control, I'm using $Button here, I'm sure it would be different in yours. If (ControlGetHandle($Main, '', ControlGetFocus($Main)) == $Edit_Hwnd) Then ControlFocus($Main, '', $Button) EndIf WEnd Common sense plays a role in the basics of understanding AutoIt... If you're lacking in that, do us all a favor, and step away from the computer. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
GaryFrost Posted June 15, 2006 Share Posted June 15, 2006 #include <guiconstants.au3> Global $SetEditState $Main = GUICreate('', 200, 130) $Edit = GUICtrlCreateEdit('blah', 10, 10, 180, 80) $h_edit = ControlGetHandle($Main,"","Edit1") DllCall("user32.dll","int","HideCaret","hwnd",$h_edit) $Button = GUICtrlCreateButton('Disable', 65, 95, 60, 30) GUISetState() While 1 $Msg = GUIGetMsg() Select Case $Msg = - 3 ExitLoop Case $Msg = $Button $SetEditState = Not $SetEditState If $SetEditState Then GUICtrlSetData($Button, 'Enable') GUICtrlSendMsg($Edit, 0xCF, True, 0) GUICtrlSetBkColor($Edit,0xFFFFFF) Else GUICtrlSetData($Button, 'Disable') GUICtrlSendMsg($Edit, 0xCF, False, 0) EndIf EndSelect WEnd SciTE for AutoItDirections for Submitting Standard UDFs Don't argue with an idiot; people watching may not be able to tell the difference. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moderators SmOke_N Posted June 15, 2006 Moderators Share Posted June 15, 2006 #include <guiconstants.au3> Global $SetEditState $Main = GUICreate('', 200, 130) $Edit = GUICtrlCreateEdit('blah', 10, 10, 180, 80) $h_edit = ControlGetHandle($Main,"","Edit1") DllCall("user32.dll","int","HideCaret","hwnd",$h_edit) $Button = GUICtrlCreateButton('Disable', 65, 95, 60, 30) GUISetState() While 1 $Msg = GUIGetMsg() Select Case $Msg = - 3 ExitLoop Case $Msg = $Button $SetEditState = Not $SetEditState If $SetEditState Then GUICtrlSetData($Button, 'Enable') GUICtrlSendMsg($Edit, 0xCF, True, 0) GUICtrlSetBkColor($Edit,0xFFFFFF) Else GUICtrlSetData($Button, 'Disable') GUICtrlSendMsg($Edit, 0xCF, False, 0) EndIf EndSelect WEnd Dammit, you don't know how many API's I went through to try and find that!!! Good 1 Gary! Common sense plays a role in the basics of understanding AutoIt... If you're lacking in that, do us all a favor, and step away from the computer. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Create an account or sign in to comment
You need to be a member in order to leave a comment
Create an account
Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!
Register a new accountSign in
Already have an account? Sign in here.
Sign In Now